Home > Tutorials > Image Processing – Smooth Effect

Image Processing – Smooth Effect

The smooth effect makes use of Convolution Matrix, you might need to refer to my previous post on Convolution Matrix.

The applied matrix for the effect:

[ 1 | 1 | 1 ]

[ 1 | 5 | 1 ]

[ 1 | 1 | 1 ]

The factor is 13 and offset 1.

Below is the comparison:

Original Image

Original Image

Applied Smooth Effect

Applied Smooth Effect

It took me a while to compare these twos, look carefully I see the differences. Oh well, you may want to use another picture to test. However, I love this one🙂

Here the implementation:

	public static Bitmap smooth(Bitmap src, double value) {
		ConvolutionMatrix convMatrix = new ConvolutionMatrix(3);
		convMatrix.Matrix[1][1] = value;
		convMatrix.Factor = value + 8;
		convMatrix.Offset = 1;
		return ConvolutionMatrix.computeConvolution3x3(src, convMatrix);

Hope you like it!

Pete Houston

  1. July 23, 2015 at 4:17 am

    Reblogged this on Hakan Kanmaz.

  2. September 20, 2014 at 3:33 pm

    excuse me , I had problem and I wish you can help me with it .
    there are some awesome filters in instagram like Amaro , Hudson, Sierra and many others , how can we do it due programming ? can you do it ?


  3. May 9, 2014 at 8:51 pm

    This tutorial is awesome. Thnks it helped me a lot. Can you please let me know how cani give whitening effect to the image?

  4. April 3, 2012 at 10:22 am


  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

